Utah Marijuana Information
Utah has never been known for being a friendly place for cannabis enthusiasts, but the times certainly are a’changin! Gov. Gary Herbert has signed several pieces of legislature which in 2019 will allow local farmers that have been approved by the state to grow cannabis on their farms for both research purposes in state laboratories, but also to provide for dying patients who have signed doctor’s notes indicating they have less than 6 months to live. While this isn’t a full spread legalization of medical marijuana, it is a big step in the right direction, coming from a state no one expected to have much of any compassion whatsoever!
There will also be an initiative on the ballot this fall (2018) to legalize medical marijuana, hopefully it further expands the medical laws within the suddenly open-minded state.
Currently, possession of less than one ounce of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor that can result in a six-month jail sentence and $1,000 maximum fine. If you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Utah Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
Is Marijuana legal in Utah?
No, both recreational and medical marijuana are not legal, but efforts are in place to gather signatures for a state ballot measure for the Fall of 2018.
In Utah currently, possession of less than 1 ounce is a class B misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. A second conviction elevates this to a class A misdemeanor, and upon a third or subsequent conviction the person is guilty of a third degree felony.
Possession of paraphernalia is a class B misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
There is one medical exemption that allows for a very specific use of extract-only marijuana. In 2014, Utah’s governor signed into law a bill that exempts adults, aged 18 years and older, who suffer from intractable epilepsy from certain criminal penalties for using and possessing marijuana extracts. Patients must be residents of Utah.
How much will it cost?
No one wants to have to participate in the illegal market. Get involved by urging your legislators to support the legalization of medical marijuana.
Can I get my Medical Card if I am not Utah resident?
No, medical marijuana programs are illegal in the state of Utah.
The only exception is the CBD extract-only use among persons with intractable epilepsy. Registration cards are required in order to participate in this program. A signed statement by a neurologist verifying that the patient has intractable epilepsy must be submitted to the Utah Department of Health. All patients who are registered must also be residents of the State of Utah.
To apply for the limited CBD extract-only use for persons with intractable epilepsy, have your neurologist submit a signed statement verifying your condition to Utah Department of Health, P.O. Box 141010, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1010 or call 801-538-6003 for additional information.
What do you need to purchase cannabis for intractable epilepsy?
All purchasers must be residents of the State of Utah, and have submitted to the Utah State Health Department a letter from their neurologist.
What types of marijuana can I purchase to control my intractable epilepsy?
The law specifically allows only low-THC marijuana extracts from industrial hemp with less than 0.3% THC and at least 5% CBD by weight to be used to manage intractable epilepsy. Unfortunately, because no shops are allowed to sell either medical or recreational marijuana in Utah at this time, the law has only authorized the Utah Department of Health and research institutions to grow industrial hemp, which is the hemp used to produce the extracts. Contact the Department of Health for more information.
How much Marijuana can I have?
Our apologies to the Stones, but sometimes you can’t always get what you want. Both medical and recreational marijuana continues to be illegal at this time in the State of Utah.
Can patients take purchases home if they live in another state or country?
No. Carrying marijuana across state lines violates federal law.
If marijuana is legalized can I still get in trouble?
Yes. You can always get in trouble at the federal level until marijuana is rescheduled. If you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Utah Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
How can I work for change?
Get involved by contacting your local state lawmakers and voice your opinion about the legalization of marijuana in your state. For the latest updates on where your state stands on the issue of marijuana legalization, check out the National Conference of State Legislatures.
Where can I go on vacation to enjoy my right to buy and consume legal cannabis?
Make your next vacation a weed friendly event, we can help: Kush Tourism
Nothing on this website should be considered legal advice or as a substitute for legal advice. Please respect the current state of Marijuana law in your area.