Oklahoma Marijuana Information
Oklahoma is a midwestern state with some of the harshest marijuana laws in the country. Possessing any amount of marijuana as a first offense is punishable by one year incarceration. Getting caught possessing any amount of marijuana as a second offense is considered a felony and carries 2-10 years imprisonment. Selling or distributing marijuana in Oklahoma is considered a felony, as well, and is punishable by two years to life imprisonment and up to $500,000 in fine. The incarceration and fines are doubled if marijuana is sold to a minor or within 2,000 feet of public parks or schools. On a positive note, some progress has been made toward sensible marijuana policy lately. Governor Mary Fallin signed HB 2479 in April 2016 to reduce penalties for second marijuana possession convictions in half. Effective November 1, 2016, this new law will allow Oklahoma police to focus on more serious crimes.
In 2015, Oklahoma passed its first medical marijuana law. The Low-THC Law provides protection for certain patients 18 years and under who have been diagnosed with severe forms of epilepsy such as LennoxGastaut Syndrome and Dravet Syndrome. In 2016, the law will be expanded to include adults and additional symptoms including intractable nausea and vomiting, paraplegia, and appetite stimulation with chronic wasting diseases. Patients who receive written recommendation from a physician receive limited protection when possessing cannabidiol (CBD) oil in Oklahoma. The oil must not contain more than .3% THC, the substance in cannabis that provides the “high” effect. Unfortunately, this law does not address how patients are actually supposed to obtain CBD oil in Oklahoma. Medical marijuana may be on the ballot on November 8, 2016. The Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative supports the legalization of marijuana growth, use, and possession for medical purposes in Oklahoma. However, the legalization of recreational marijuana is not likely to happen anytime in the near future. If you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Oklahoma Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
Is recreational marijuana legal in Oklahoma?
No. Marijuana for recreational purposes is very illegal in Oklahoma, and breaking the law is punishable by imprisonment, fines, and criminal convictions. A first offense is punishable by a year in prison, while a second offense is considered a felony and carries up to 10 years in prison.
Is medical marijuana legal in Oklahoma?
Patients with certain conditions such as epilepsy, paraplegia, and intractable nausea and vomiting can legally use low-THC cannabidiol oil in Oklahoma and receive protection against criminalization.
How much will it cost?
No form of marijuana -including medical cannabis- is legally sold in Oklahoma.
Can I get my Medical Card if I’m not an Oklahoma resident?
No, you must be an Oklahoma resident and provide valid Oklahoma identification to qualify for a medical card.
Where can I apply for it?
Once you have obtained a copy of your medical records and a written document from your medical practitioner, you can apply for a medical card from the state of Oklahoma.
Can patients take purchases home if they live in another state or country?
Marijuana (recreational or medical) is not legally for sale in Oklahoma.
If marijuana is legalized can I still get into trouble?
You are unlikely to get into trouble at the state or local level as long as you abide by those laws. However, there is always a chance of running to trouble at the federal level. If you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Oklahoma Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
How can I work for change?
Join Oklahomans for Health, an organization dedicated to the legalization of medical marijuana in Oklahoma. You can also create a group at your college to draw awareness to marijuana legalization (if you’re in college), write letters to your state legislators, make social media groups to educate, and write guest posts on related blogs
Ask Us A Question On Our Travel Discussion Board