Minnesota Marijuana information
Minnesota enacted a restrictive medical marijuana program in May 2014. To its credit, the state has moved in a comparatively quick fashion to fully implement a comprehensive medical marijuana program. Minnesotans with qualifying conditions who are interested in enrolling in the program, and healthcare practitioners who are interested in certifying some of their qualified patients, should contact the Minnesota Department of Health for details.
The qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Minnesota are currently:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Intractable pain
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Terminal illness
- Tourette’s Syndrome
The program is comparatively modest, with less than 600 state registered patients as of June 2016. The state does not allow home growing or patient caregivers, but you have to start somewhere. Some patients have to first be convinced that the state will protect them, that their confidential data will be safe and they can continue to be considered law abiding citizens before agreeing to be listed in the database. If you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Minnesota Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
Is Marijuana legal in Minnesota?
No. As of June 2016, recreational marijuana is not legal in Minnesota. Medical marijuana has been legal since 2014.
Where can I buy marijuana?
Currently, there are no legal outlets in Minnesota where residents can purchase recreational marijuana, although there are a handful of medical marijuana dispensaries around the state.
How can I help legalize marijuana in Minnesota?
For the status of the fight for legalization, a great place to start is the old tried and true: Minnesota NORML
If you want to take action as a resident of the state and let your representatives that you want to exercise your basic human right to possess and consume cannabis check out the Marijuana Policy Project, MPP.
What is the punishment if I’m caught with marijuana?
The Minnesota statute lists Marijuana as a Schedule 1 controlled substances.
Possession of 42.5 grams or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $200.*
* A conditional discharge is possible for first time offenders.
* There is a possible drug education course requirement.
Possession of more than 42.5 grams – less than 10 kilograms is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000. Subsequent convictions shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for 6 mos – 10 years and a possible fine of not more than $20,000. If you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Minnesota Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
Shop CBD, THC & Other Cannabinoids Now
Designed to calm, soothe, and restore, our heal blend is a multipurpose salve formulated with a blen
Lightweight and deeply hydrating, our body lotion is formulated with skin reviving botanicals includ
Our antioxidant-rich body oil is formulated with a luscious blend of bioactive botanicals and full s
Hemp Pets CBD Full Spectrum Tincture Regular price $65.00 Adding product to your cart Hemp Pets CBD
Kendie Cannabis Hands Formula- 1200 MG Full Spectrum Hands Formula contains a harmonized blend of in