Delaware Marijuana Information
Almost four years after the Delaware’s medical marijuana act was signed into law. First State Compassion, the first dispensary, opened opened to qualified patients in June 2015. The Department of Health is expected to register two more compassion centers by August 2016.
The Delaware Department of Health continues to accept applications for medical marijuana ID cards, which will are required for patients seeking to obtain their medicine from a compassion center.
The Delaware Medical Marijuana Act does five basic things:
- Decriminalizes patient use
- Establishes qualifying conditions for medical mj use
- Establishes state-regulated, non-for-profit compassion centers, which will also cultivate the medical marijuana. (Delaware’s law does not allow home growing)
- Sets patient age and possession limits: patients 18+ years of age may possess up to six ounces of flower. Compassion centers may dispense up to 3 ounces/ patient every 14 days
- Establishes both affirmative defense and arrest protection for qualified patients with valid MMJ patient ID card
Delaware is also looking at the possibility of legalizing the recreational use of cannabis for adults over the age of 21 in the near future! A special task force was assigned to study the impact of legalizing recreational cannabis in November of 2017, and there should be a full report submitted in February 2018! Hopefully they continue the trend of having legal recreational cannabis on the East Coast!
Even though medical cannabis is legal, if you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Delaware Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
Delaware Marijuana Dispensaries
Is Marijuana legal in Delaware?
No. As of June 2016, recreational marijuana is not legal in Delaware. Medical marijuana has been legal in Delaware since 2015.
Where can I buy marijuana?
Currently, there are only state licensed medical marijuana dispensaries, but they are few and far between.
How can I help legalize marijuana in Delaware?
Keep an ear to the ground and support your current lawmakers’ efforts to push the issue. Currently, conservative Colin Bonini is pushing the issue . The legislation, if approved, would expand probation before judgment to misdemeanor marijuana possession charges. The bill awaits Gov. Jack Markell’s signature.
What is the punishment if I’m caught with marijuana?
Delaware decriminalized December 2015 possession or private use of a small amount of marijuana is no longer punishable by a fine of up to $1,150 and six months in jail. Instead, the penalty is a $100 civil fine, which can be paid like a traffic ticket. People under 18 or those caught using marijuana in public still face criminal sanctions, and the drug can still be confiscated by police. Even though medical cannabis is legal, if you find yourself in a pinch with the law, check out our Delaware Cannabis Lawyers page for help!
What is CBD and will it make me high?
CBD or cannabidiol is one of over 60 compounds found in cannabis called cannabinoids. CBD is a non-psychoactive substance that is of great interest to medical marijuana patients and researchers for its many medical properties, being effective as: an anti-inflammatory, anti-anxiety, anti-emetic, anti-depresdsant, and anti-bacterial. Of particular importance to people who suffer from seizures is it’s anti-convulsive properties. THC is the cannabinoid most known for its psychotropic effects or getting you “high.”
How much are people paying for weed in Delaware?
For current market prices for marijuana in Delaware, check the public sourced data site: PriceOfWeed.com
Has anyone ever had a fatal overdose of marijuana?
No, even though the US sadly has over 29,000 alcohol induced deaths, marijuana has never killed anyone directly from over consumption. If a bale of it fell on you, it would hurt pretty bad though.
Use the forum below for more to post questions, answer others, and learn more!
- This forum has 12 topics, 33 replies, and was last updated 1 year, 10 months ago by .
- Last Post
- You must be logged in to create new topics.