In 1996, California became the first state in the nation to legalize medical marijuana. The bill to legalize marijuana and hemp under state law and enact a 15% sales tax as well as a cultivation tax of $9.25 per ounce for flowers and $2.75 per ounce for leaves, with exceptions for qualifying medical marijuana sales and cultivation will be proposed on November 8th 2016. And it will pass only through the voting system.
Prop 215 was passed by the California voters in 1996. It allowed for the purchase, cultivation, and distribution of medical marijuana; however, roll-out of the new laws was set back until SB 420, the “Medical Marijuana Protection Act,” was passed in 2003 which granted more legal protection for dispensaries, and patients. Dispensaries were legal before 2003, though they were not widespread until after the passage of SB 420.
Proposition 215 in 1996 allowed votes to bass a bill for medical marijuana to be sold in California. Dispensaries opened up shortly after in the beginning of the 2000’s. Because regulations were iffy at first dispensary records for around that time are widely unknown. In 2009 it was estimated there was 500-1000 dispensaries.