Penalties and laws are similar for adults and minors. The biggest difference is the disciplinary action taken against minors is rougher than it is for adults when it comes to intent to distribute, minors can often lose their driver licenses for several years where adults are unlikely to see any suspension.
It seems that New Hampshire is not bending to the trend of the other states that surround it. these states have determined that possession of marijuana is deemed an infraction, which is a minor offense. New Hampshire considers it to be a misdemeanor which is punished by fines and even jail time. Though the law doesn’t distinguish between various ages of those caught, a judge will take into consideration their age along with if it is a first offense and may deal more lightly.
Yes, there are some differences in punishment, for minors versus adults. Possession of any amount of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor in New Hampshire. The punishment is a maximum sentence of 1 year in prison, as well as a $2000 (maximum fine). In addition, adults (who are under 21 years of age) will face a driver’s license suspension for ninety days to one year. For minors under the age of 18, they will face a driver’s license suspension for one to five years.