What Are New Hampshire Marijuana Laws For Driving?

HomeX Community Forum North America New Hampshire What Are New Hampshire Marijuana Laws For Driving?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  mowens 3 years, 8 months ago.

  • Author
    Posts
  • #13034

    darthvaper69
    Participant

    Can I get a DUI from driving after smoking weed in New Hampshire? How do they know if your high, and what determines if you’re too high to drive?

  • #13607

    mowens
    Participant

    It is a very bad idea. Even for a first offender a DUI in NH will revoke your license, obligate you to take safety and possibly drug classes, as well as hefty monetary penalties and possible confinement if your driving was endangering people, which makes your crime “aggravated.” A specially trained narcotics officer will make the final determination if you were at all impaired, then that’s it.

  • #13605

    tensor
    Participant

    New Hampshire law states that any person operating a vehicle while under the influence of a controlled drug is guilty of a DUI. This would include marijuana. Sobriety is determined through a “physical test,” and if an officer determines that a driver is impaired in any way due to a controlled substance, then the driver is guilty of a DUI.

  • #13606

    maprino
    Participant

    Yes, you can get a DUI if you are caught driving under the influence of marijuana in New Hampshire, just like any other controlled substance. If the officer believes you are under the influence of marijuana they will administer a field sobriety test which will check and monitor your behaviors. If you fail this test you will be arrested and charged with a DUI or some equivalent. Marijuana is treated roughly the same as alcohol.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.