What Are Maine’s Laws Regarding Marijuana and Minors?

HomeX Community Forum North America Maine What Are Maine’s Laws Regarding Marijuana and Minors?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Pokeballz1984 2 years, 2 months ago.

  • Author
    Posts
  • #12896

    justojusto
    Participant

    Are the marijuana laws different for minors than for adults in Maine?

  • #13192

    jdunks
    Participant

    Yes Sale to a minor younger than 16 years of age, Crime, 1 year, $ 2,000. Possession of a “usable amount” with proof of a physician’s recommendation is not punishable.
    Possession of up to 1 ¼ ounces of marijuana is a civil violation punishable by a fine of $350 – $600.

    Possession of 1 ¼ to 2.5 oz. is a civil violation punishable by a $700-$1000 fine. Subsequent offenses within 6 months are punishable by a $550 fine.

    Possession of between 2.5-8 oz. is a Class E crime punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.

    Possession of between 8-16 oz. is a Class D crime punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000

  • #13193

    johnymcdon
    Participant

    The sale of paraphernalia to a person less than 16 years old is a Class D crime misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000. The sale of paraphernalia is a person at least 16 years old is A Class E crime misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.

  • #13194

    Pokeballz1984
    Participant

    The laws for minors and adults are the same, with the disciplinary action for both being identical. The only extra charges adults can receive is distributing to minors and using minors to sell marijuana for them as dealers. Medical marijuana laws and card requirements are the same for adults and minors with the exception that minors need a caregiver to sign paperwork.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.