What Are Delaware Marijuana Laws For Driving?

HomeX Community Forum North America Delaware What Are Delaware Marijuana Laws For Driving?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  jcglittle 3 years, 5 months ago.

  • Author
    Posts
  • #13019

    julzcash
    Participant

    Can I get a DUI from driving after smoking weed in Delaware? How do they know if your high, and what determines if you’re too high to drive?

  • #13560

    Snoogins
    Participant

    Yes, while medical marijuana is legal in the state of Delaware, driving under the influence of cannabis isn’t. They will check your reaction time using a series of special protocols to determine whether or not you are impaired. If so, even on your first offense, you will be immediately be placed under arrest and have your license revoked for up to a year. The judge will determine the rest at his/her discretion.

  • #13561

    kamal
    Participant

    You, you can get a DUI from being high on marijuana while driving. They usually know if your high the same way they know when drivers are drunk, by utilizing DUI checkpoints as well as pulling over drivers who appear to be impaired. You’ll take a physical impairment test, if you fail you’ll be required to take a urine/blood/breath test. If you refuse your license will be suspended for a time decided by a judge on top of being arrested for DUI. Having THC in your system will usually result in a DUI conviction.

  • #13562

    jcglittle
    Participant

    Yes, you can get a DUI if you are caught driving under the influence of marijuana in Delaware, just like any other controlled substance. If the officer believes you are under the influence of marijuana they will administer a field sobriety test which will check and monitor your behaviors. If you fail this test you will be arrested and charged with a DUI or some equivalent. Marijuana is treated roughly the same as alcohol.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.