What Are Connecticut’s Laws Regarding Marijuana and Minors?

HomeX Community Forum North America Connecticut What Are Connecticut’s Laws Regarding Marijuana and Minors?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  magoolify 3 years, 11 months ago.

  • Author
    Posts
  • #13012

    maprino
    Participant

    Are the marijuana laws different for minors than for adults in Connecticut?

  • #13540

    EevaDawn
    Participant

    In Connecticut the laws regarding recreational marijuana is the same, which is that recreational marijuana is illegal for both minors and adults alike. The only difference for minors and adults in Connecticut is the process for getting a medical marijuana card. Adults can apply for themselves, and have more possible conditions to qualify for. Minors on the other hand must have a caregiver to apply and administer the marijuana, and there are less pediatric conditions to be able to qualify for compared to conditions for adults.

  • #13541

    magoolify
    Participant

    Any minor (age under 21) convicted of any marijuana, alcohol, or other drug offense faces a 12-month drivers license suspension, regardless of whether the offense was driving-related. The court may allow restricted license privileges if the minor demonstrates a critical need to drive.

  • #13539

    rodrigomd
    Member

    In the state of Connecticut, courts may make an exception for minors that are under the age of 18 if they are found to have grown or distributed marijuana through a reduced sentencing. Additionally, minors who are caught in possession of a small amount of marijuana will face a 60-day driver’s license suspension, similar to that of a minor traffic violation.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.