What Are Colorado’s Laws Regarding Marijuana and Minors?

HomeX Community Forum North America Colorado What Are Colorado’s Laws Regarding Marijuana and Minors?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  tensor 6 years, 6 months ago.

  • Author
  • #13014


    Are the marijuana laws different for minors than for adults in Colorado?

  • #13545


    There are a few things that differ from adults and minors when it comes to marijuana, such as youth’s that are under 21 and are caught carrying can face a “minor in possession” charge, which can lead to misdemeanors or felony charges. Also since marijuana isn’t legal in every state there is a chance that they will lose their chance at getting financial aid in different colleges. Youths also can lose their license and they might have to take drug counseling classes.

  • #13546

    Chief wanna dubbie

    Simply put it holds the same restrictions as alcohol. You must be 21 to possess or use marijuana. Penalties are similar to underage drinking with fines or jail possible. Also, there must be 1000 feet between any dispensary and a school. It is also against the law for a person of age to provide a minor with marijuana.

  • #13547


    Yes, You must be 21:It’s illegal for people under 21 to buy, have or use retail marijuana.
    It’s a felony for anyone to give or sell to, or share marijuana with, anyone under 21.
    You must present a valid ID proving you’re 21 or older.
    Limits to buying:
    Buy retail marijuana only from licensed retail stores.
    Colorado residents 21 and older can buy and possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana at a time.
    Adults 21 and older with an out-of-state ID can purchase up to a quarter-ounce at a time.
    Limits to selling:
    Only licensed retailers can sell marijuana products.
    Adults 21 or older can give up to 1 ounce of marijuana to another adult 21 or older, but can’t sell marijuana. This includes homegrown product.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.