Q: Is There a Connecticut Marijuana TaxA:So apparently there is something called a ” marijuana tax stamp”. Basically it requires anybody who has more than 42.5 ounces of marijuana in Connecticut to have this stamp or else said person in possession will be subjected to a tax of $3.50 on every ounce of marijuana they possess over 42 ounces. The state can even force these individuals to pay 200 times the amount of the tax.
and people who live in Connecticut may not realize it but they could face up to six years in prison and a $10,000 fine for not possessing a marijuana tax stamp, like the Connecticut Marijuana Tax Stamps Law requires.
Yes $3.50 per gram (or portion thereof) of marijuana,
$200.00 per gram (or portion thereof) of a controlled substance that is sold by weight, and
$2,000.00 per each 50 dosage units (or portion thereof) of a controlled substance that is not sold by weight.
New legislation in underway but this is the current info on the Connecticut government website
Recreational marijuana is not legal to buy in Connecticut, but you can buy medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary if you have a prescription for it. When you legally buy medical marijuana in Connecticut, you pay a sales and use tax of 6.35%. This tax isn’t only for marijuana but applies to most retail sales of goods in Connecticut. There is also a tax levied for illegal possession of marijuana, which is $3.50 per gram.